2017: Twenty Second National Seafarers Day

4:41 am Thursday, September 28, 2017

By: Atty. Dennis R. Gorecho

22nd NSD

The Twenty-Second National Seafarers’ Day was celebrated on September 24, 2017, with the theme “MARINONG FILIPINO: NAG-UUGNAY SA MUNDO”. The Manila celebration was held at the Cuneta Astrodome.

Former president Fidel V. Ramos earlier issued on July 9, 1996 Proclamation No. 828 declaring August 18 as National Seafarers Day wherein the Apostleship of the Sea (AOS) was tasked to coordinate with the public and private sector in activities related to the celebration of the said event. The purpose of the Proclamation is to give due recognition to the vital role of Filipino seafarers towards the development of the Philippines as a maritime country. Later, Proclamation No.1094 was issued in 1997 by President Ramos which moved NSD to every last Sunday of September every year.

The #NSD22 #NSD2017 activities nationwide led by the #ApostleshipoftheSea ( #AOS ) include the Memorial at Sea, High Mass, Oratorical/ Art/ Photo Contest, Harana by the Bay, Boodlefight, Karaoke challenge, and the Search for Top Ten Outstanding Maritime Students. One of the highlights is the Grand Parade participated in by more than 4000 stakeholders from maritime schools, government agencies, manning agencies, training centers, maritime organizations, unions, families and private institutions.

The high mass was celebrated by Cubao Bishop Honesto Ongtioco while MARINA administrator Marcial Amaro III was the guest speaker.

The seventh batch of recipients for the Ten Outstanding Maritime Students of the Philippines (TOMSP) search (in line with the National Seafarers Day) was awarded on that day.  It gave recognition to students for being academically excellent, highly competent in practice, in good moral standing and active in their respective communities.

  1. Dionel Alfaro of Asian Institute of Maritime Studies (AIMS) Pasay
  2. Ronald Christ Capindo of John B Lacson Colleges Foundation Bacolod
  3. Nelyvette Claire Dela Cruz of Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific (MAAP) Bataan
  4. Janine Elican of John B Lacson Colleges Foundation  Bacolod
  5. Eugene Mark Genilsa of John B Lacson Colleges Foundation  Molo
  6. John Michael Ibanez University of Cebu  Lapulapu and Mandaue
  7. Loren Negapatan of MAAP Bataan
  8. Patrick Allan Peralta of MAAP Bataan
  9. Karl Japeth Rosal of MAAP Bataan
  10. Honey Grace Ysulan of Philippine Merchant Marine Academy (PMMA)

92817 1

92817 2

92817 3

92817 4

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »